June 01, 2016

Vijay Singh Highlights Sectional Field

Sixty-three professional and amateur golfers will attempt to qualify for the 116th United States Open Championship, on June 6th, at Timuquana Country Club in Jacksonville.

The field is highlighted by 34-time PGA Tour Winner Vijay Singh, of Fiji and Ian Poulter, of England. Singh won the 2000 Masters and the 1998 & 2004 PGA Championships, while his best U.S. Open finish was T-3 in 1999. He looks to make his 19th start in the U.S. Open Championship.  Also in the field is three-time PGA Tour Winner, Chris DiMarco, of Longwood, FL.

This year’s field also features three past Florida State Amateur Champions. Ty Harris, now a professional out of Hendersonville, NC; captured the 2002 Amateur Championship at ChampionsGate Golf Resort. Tyler McCumber, of Ponte Vedra Beach, won both the 2011 Florida Amateur at Doral & the 2013 Florida Open at Quail Valley. Sam Horsfield, of Davenport, won the 2013 Amateur Championship in runaway fashion at Jupiter Hills Club. Horsfield just completed his Freshman season at the University of Florida, where he had three victories, and eight top-10 finishes. Sam is currently 9th in the World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR) and competed in the 2015 U.S. Open Championship at Chamber's Bay after advancing through Sectional Qualifying.

Other notables include: Jorge Garcia, of Miami, FL, Horsfield's teammate, just completed Freshman season at Florida and is 39th in current WAGR; Chase Koepka, of Jupiter, just finished his Senior season at University of South Florida, ranked 51st in WAGR and is the younger brother of PGA Tour Winner Brooks Koepka; Marc Dull, of Winter Haven, was the runner-up in last years U.S. Mid-Amateur at Johns Island Club, in Vero Beach; Scott Harvey, of Greensboro, NC, the 2014 U.S. Mid-Amateur Champion and Corey Conners, of Canada, 2014 U.S. Amateur runner-up.

Other past FSGA Champions in the field are: Kevin Aylwin (2007, 2008 & 2010 Public Links, 2008 Two-Man Shootout), John Coultas (2014 Boys' Junior), Austin Hitt (2015 Boys' Junior), Sachin Kumar (2014 Junior Match Play), Conor Richardson (2014 Four-Ball), and Jimmy Stanger (2010 Boys' Junior).

For the first time, the Donald Ross-designed Timuquana Country Club will host U.S. Open sectional qualifying. But this isn’t the first time Timuquana has been on the national stage. The club was the host site of the 2002 U.S. Senior Amateur Championship, won by Greg Reynolds. It also has hosted sectional qualifying for the U.S. Amateur Championship. David Duval, the 1989 U.S. Junior Amateur champion, honed his game at the club, and 1969 U.S. Amateur champion Steve Melnyk is a longtime member.  While Ross created the original layout, Robert Trent Jones Sr. was hired in the 1950s to make revisions. In 2011, the entire course was re-grassed and many bunkers were renovated.

The United States Open Championship will be conducted at Oakmont Country Club, near Pittsburgh, PA on June 16-19. Click here for more information regarding the championship.

Spectators and media are welcome to watch the golfers compete at Timuquana Country Club for a chance to compete in the U.S. Open.

Click here for Round 1 & 2 Tee Times

Back to News
FSGA links and resources
© 2018 Florida State Golf Association. All rights reserved. • Sitemap
While viewing this site, you are subject to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
Return to Top