October 05, 2012

FL Cup Teams Announced

Quail Valley Golf Club is Set to Host The 9th Cup Matches.

The Florida State Golf Association has announced the teams representing North and South Florida in the 9th Florida Cup Matches. Quail Valley Golf Club in Vero Beach will host the Matches on October 18-19.

The Florida Cup Matches vie 16 of the top amateurs from North Florida versus 16 of the top amateurs from South Florida. Using a Ryder-Cup format, the winner is determined by the number of points earned throughout the two days. In 2011, North Florida captured the cup for the fifth time compared to three for the South.

The North Florida team includes Don Bell, of Port Orange, the 2012 Mid-Amateur Stroke Play Champion. Don will also serve as the North’s playing captain for the second year in a row.  Also representing the North team is Doug Snoap, of Apopka, who advanced to the 2012 US Senior Open Championship held at Indianwood Golf & Country Club, and this year’s Mid-Senior Champion, Ken Moody, of Ponte Vedra Beach.

Other members include, Tory Carli, of Lake Mary, Derek Camps, of Sanford, Kevin Altenhof, of Melbourne, Mike Riley, of Panama City, 2012 US Mid-Amateur qualifier Nikhil DeSai, of Sanford, Rob Maddox, of Lynn Haven, Thad Hudgens, of Longwood and the 2012 Four-Ball Champions Dan Debra, of Lutz and Don Wittemore, of Temple Terrace. Seniors representing the North team include the 2012 Senior Champion AJ Kroeger, of Apopka, and the 2011 Senior Amateur Champion Jim Carley, of Ormond Beach.  The other two senior members include Robert Hess, of Casselberry, and Gordon Blakeley, of Lutz.

The South Florida team features the 2012 Public Links Champion TJ Shuart, of Coral Springs.  TJ will also serve as the South’s playing captain for the first time.   Also representing the South team is the 2005 Amateur Champion Ryan Abbate, of Fort Lauderdale and Matt Avril, of Vero Beach, who also qualified for the 2012 US Senior Open Championship. 

The South team also includes 2012 US Mid-Amateur qualifiers Ben Adelberg, from Boynton Beach, and Joseph Latowski, of Port Saint Lucie. Also representing the South team are the Vero Beach trio of Ryan Cobb, Chuck Gould, and Bobby Bird, along with David Obst, of Fort Lauderdale, Frank Babusik, of Jupiter, Donald Wolfe, of Miami, and KC Fox, of Sarasota.

Seniors representing the South team include the 2011 FSGA Senior Player-of-the-Year and the 2007 Senior Champion Rick Woulfe, of Fort Lauderdale, the 2012 Senior Amateur Match Play Champion Howard Logan, of Naples, Gary Saft, of Fort Myers, and John Vaccaro, of Sarasota.

On Thursday, October 18, two-man teams play 18 holes of four-ball match play in the morning and foursome alternate shot in the afternoon. The final day, Friday, October 19, participants will compete in 18 holes of singles match play.

Players are invited based on their performance from the previous two seasons. Some automatic selections are based on the FSGA two-year point’s standings.

Back to News
FSGA links and resources
© 2018 Florida State Golf Association. All rights reserved. • Sitemap
While viewing this site, you are subject to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
Return to Top