November 08, 2013

South Captures Inaugural FL Cup

South wins Inaugural Women's Florida Cup 21-3

The South Florida team won the Inaugural Florida Cup defeating the North Florida team by a score of 21-3, at Lake Jovita Golf & Country Club in Dade City, on November 7-8.

The South Team started in the Thursday Morning Four-Ball Matches, winning 5 of 6 matches to gain an early 5-1 lead.  Susie Fonde, coming off a Hole-in-One on the par 3 Twelfth during Wednesday's practice round, and partner Therese Quinn of the North defeated the pair of Mary Jane Heiestand & Diane Lang 1 up to point the lone point on the board for the North.

In the Afternoon Foursome Matches, Taffy Brower & Nancy Smith set the tone for the South Team with a 7 & 5 victory in the first of six matches that saw a clean sweep for the South.  2013 International Four-Ball Champions, Tara Connelly & Meghan Stasi proved dominant again as a team, taking their match 4 & 3.  At the close of the day Thursday the South held a commanding 11-1 lead.

The South Team again would be the story again on Friday, victorious in 10 of the 12 Individual Matches.  Erika Schneider started off with a 6 & 4 victory in the first match out.  Meghan Stasi, 2013 Women’s Player of Year & 4-time USGA Champion won her match 7 & 6 for the South.  Both, Gigi Higgins and Nancy Smith ended their matches in similar style with chip-ins on their 15th hole, the 6th of the South Course, to close out their opponents 4 & 3.  Diane Lange, 3-time USGA Champion won her match 4 & 3.

The North Florida team included Captain Tama Caldabaugh, Debbie Mook Sang, Gilda Perez, Catherine Richey, Mindy Smith, Sarah Matin, Charlotte Daughan, Lin McMillan, Therese Quinn, Susie Fonde, Janice Wilson, Marci Zweifel.

The South Florida team featured Captain Mary Jane Hiestand, Gigi Higgins, Nancy Smith, Lynda Case, Taffy Brower, Meghan Stasi, Tara Connelly, Ericka Schneider, Marie Arnoux, Diane Lang, Wendi Golden, and Kimberly Benedict.

This year was the Inaugural Women’s Florida Cup matches.  The bi-annual matches will pit the top 12 women from both North Florida and South Florida, in a Ryder-Cup style format.  The winning team is determined by points earned over two days of Four-Ball, Foursomes and Individual Matches.

Back to News
FSGA links and resources
© 2018 Florida State Golf Association. All rights reserved. • Sitemap
While viewing this site, you are subject to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
Return to Top