May 19, 2014

Truslow Honored at HP Byron Nelson

FJT Player, Austen Truslow of New Smyrna Beach, was honored this past weekend at the PGA Tour's HP Byron Nelson Championship.

Austen Truslow has been a regular at Florida Junior Tour events, FSGA Championships, and USGA qualifiers in Florida over the past few seasons. This past weekend in Irving, Texas, Truslow received the Byron Nelson International Junior Golf Award for not only his impressive golfing skill, but for his great academic success at Lake Mary Prep and his community involvement.

Truslow was joined Saturday evening at the awards recipients dinner by George Cunningham (Tuscon, AZ), Doug Ghim (Arlington Heights, IL), Matthew Perrine (Austin, TX) and 2013 U.S. Junior Amateur Champion, Scottie Scheffler (Dallas, TX).

A class of 2014 graduate, Truslow is committed to play for the University of Virginia this fall.  Austen is currently the No. 2 ranked player in the AJGA / Polo Rankings and No. 97 in the World Amateur Golf Rankings.  Truslow's golf highlights over the past couple seasons include victories at the 2014 AJGA Puerto Rico Junior Open, the 2013 AJGA Junior Players Championship at TPC Sawgrass, and the 2013 Golf Pride / David Leadbetter Junior Classic.  He had runner-up finishes at the 2013 FSGA Boys' Junior Championship and the 2013 FHSAA Class 1A Boys Golf Finals; and he also qualified for the 2012 and 2013 U.S. Amateur Championship and advanced to U.S. Open Sectional Qualifying in 2013.  After winning the 2014 AJGA Puerto Rico Open, Truslow received an exemption into the 2014 PGA Tour Puerto Rico Open making his PGA Tour debut as an amateur and just narrowly missed the cut.

Truslow described the weekend at the Nelson as a unique and very enlightening experience.  A highlight from the experience included a tour of the CBS trailers and vans to view the behind-the-scenes work it takes to coordinate and run every PGA Tour Event.  At the awards dinner, Austen was given an opportunity to speak with and hear stories from PGA Tour winner Justin Leonard. He also had the chance to join his four fellow award recipients and learn about Byron Nelson directly from Nelson's wife, Peggy, who was actively involved in the ceremony (pictured below).

Full Press Release

Austen's FSGA Profile

Past Award Winnners

2008- Dylan Frittelli (South Africa), Luciano Garcia, (Mexico), Cody Gribble (USA), Cory Whitsett (USA), Patrick Winther (Denmark)
2009- Evan Beck (USA), Emiliano Grillo (Argentina), Brinson Paolini (USA), Cameron Peck (USA)
2010- Yaroslav Merkulov (USA), Jordan Spieth (USA) Bobby Wyatt (USA)
2011- Michael Johnson (USA), Denny McCarthy (USA), Justin Thomas (USA)
2012- Wyndham Clark (USA), Ricky Kato (Australia), Matthew NeSmith (USA), Cody Proveaux (USA)
2013- Viraat Badhwar (Australia), Jim Liu (USA), Stratton Nolen (USA) Robby Shelton (USA), Guan Tianlang (China)

Back to News
FSGA links and resources
© 2018 Florida State Golf Association. All rights reserved. • Sitemap
While viewing this site, you are subject to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
Return to Top