October 05, 2014

Three Claim Men's Net Championship Title

Patrick Brisley, Todd Gilbert & Brian Carroll capture trophies in appropriate Age Divisions October 4-5 at Grand Cypress Golf Club

The Men’s Net Championship named three players champions this weekend, October 4-5, at Grand Cypress Golf Club in Orlando. Patrick Brisley, Todd Gilbert, and Brian Carroll captured trophies in their appropriate age divisions.

In the Under 50 Age Division, Patrick Brisley, of Tampa, finished strong with a great final round back nine to seal the title. Brisley led the tournament after a first round 63 and was trailed by Joseph Choi who was in second place by 4 strokes with a 67. Jake Peacock and Reggie Martin were tied for third place with first round scores of 69. Choi did not put any pressure on Brisley during the second round with his disappointing score of 82. Peacock played strong and shot a two under-par 70 but did not catch Brisley’s solid play, which led him to a first place win by six strokes with a tournament total 133 (11 under-par).

Todd Gilbert, of Tampa, captured the 50-64 Age Division with two consistent scores of 66 (132 tournament total). Gilbert was tied for first place with Rick Weinacht after round one but Weinacht faltered with a second round 72 to fall to a fourth place finish. Mike Gilman came back from a first round third place with a strong second round 67 but could not catch the consistency of Gilbert. Gilbert won his division by four strokes over Gilman, of Vero Beach.

Brian Carroll started the tournament on fire in the 65 and Over Age Division by posting a ten under-par 62 in round one. After round one, the next lowest score was 67 shot by Leonard Carothers and George Fries. Carroll, of Daytona Beach, shot another under-par round of 71, with a strong final six holes, to run away with the title. Jerry Felty shot two consistent under-par rounds of 69-70 to capture second place, six strokes behind Carroll’s 133 tournament total.

This is the second year for the Men’s Net Championship held both years at Grand Cypress Golf Club. This year crowned three new winners with Brisley, Gilbert, and Carroll. 

Click here for Full Results. 

Back to News
FSGA links and resources
© 2018 Florida State Golf Association. All rights reserved. • Sitemap
While viewing this site, you are subject to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
Return to Top