April 22, 2007

South Florida Team Wins Senior/Mid-Am Four Ball

Bill O'Keefe and Frank Babusik went wire-to-wire winning the 4th Senior/Mid-Amateur Four-Ball Championship at Rio Pinar Country Club.

O'Keefe, of Fort Lauderdale, and Babusik, from Pompano Beach, posted a 68 in the final round to win the Championship with a 131 tournament total. The Temple Terrace duo of Kim Schwencke and Don Whittemore placed second two strokes back from the Champions. Schwencke and Whittemore carded a 70 in the first round and jumped ahead with a final round 63. David Hopkins, from Plantation, and Philip Meng, of Orlando, recorded consistent scores of 66-68 for third place.

Gary Mackintosh, of Palm City, and Lenny Loyd, of Port St. Lucie, claimed the first flight shooting a 71-69--140. The field included 52 teams of one partner over 55 years of age and the other between 25-54 years old.

In the Championship, competitors played 36 holes of four-ball stroke play over the course of two days. Rio Pinar is host to many FSGA events and was home to the PGA Tour's Florida Citrus Open, now at Bay Hill. 

For complete results, please visit www.fsga.org.  

Organized in 1913, the Florida State Golf Association is a not-for-profit organization that governs amateur golf in the state of Florida. In addition to conducting 25 championships for amateur golfers in the state, the FSGA is responsible for more than 40 qualifying tournaments for USGA National Championships. The FSGA also maintains the USGA Handicap System, performs course ratings throughout Florida and assists in junior programs and scholarships. 

Back to News
FSGA links and resources
© 2018 Florida State Golf Association. All rights reserved. • Sitemap
While viewing this site, you are subject to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
Return to Top