October 26, 2007

South Wins Florida Cup

With this win, the series is now tied at three for the North and three for the South

South Florida regained the Florida Cup defeating the North team by a score of 18 points to 14 points at The Fox Club in Palm City on October 25-26.

After the first day of the Florida Cup Matches, the South team led the North team 9 ½ points to 6 ½ points. In the morning round of four-ball match play, the teams were tied earning four points each. In the second round of foursome matches (alternate shot), the South team jumped in front winning four matches and halving three to take a three point lead heading in the final round of singles matches.  On the final day, the South team gained 8½ points to the North’s 7 ½ points in singles matches securing the 6th Florida Cup Matches. Danny Germaine continued to go undefeated for the South team winning his singles match 2 and 1 against Tommy Dudley. Bill O’Keefe and Michael Nealy also won all their matches for the South team. Playing his home course, Eoghan O’Connell defeated two-time State Champion Jon Veneziano 2 and 1 earning a point for the South team. In a battle of Senior Amateur Champions, Ron Cleland, the 2006 Champion, defeated 2004 Champion Bruce Scamehorn 1 up to give the South team a point. Paul Royak, of the North team, won all his matches including his singles match versus Jim Weick 1 up.

The South Florida team features Edward Kenny, of Lake Worth, Samuel Martinez, of Miami, RJ Nakashian, of Palm Beach Gardens, James Weick, of Ft. Lauderdale, Danny Germaine, of Palm Beach Gardens, Michael Nealy, from Boca Raton, Artie Scott, of Tequesta, Brent Bush, of Palm Beach Gardens, Jackie Miller, of Naples, Eoghan O’Connell, of Palm Beach Gardens, Mark Leetzow, of Sarasota, Kevin Hammer, of Boynton Beach, Ron Cleland, of Naples, Bill O’Keefe, of Fort Lauderdale, Steven Sim, of Fort Lauderdale, and Carey Watson, of Coral Springs.

The North Florida team includes Jon Veneziano, of Mount Dora, Robert Parker, of Sanford, Bret Voisin, of Orlando, Doug Snoap, of Apopka, Bryce Voisin, of Orlando, Ken Godwin, of Ocala, Kelly Gosse, from Inverness, Brent Dorman, of Ocala, Tim Hume, of Tampa, Patrick Olive, of Holiday, Paul Royak, of Tampa, Tommy Dudley, of Jacksonville, Bruce Scamehorn, of Winter Haven, Kim Schwencke, of Temple Terrace, Felix Bertucci, of Gulfport, and Berger Warner, of Ocala.

On Thursday, October 25, competitors played 18 holes of four-ball match play in the morning followed by 18-hole foursome matches (alternate shot) in the afternoon. The final day, Friday, October 26, participants competed in 18-hole singles matches.

Held every two years, the Florida Cup Matches vie 16 of the top amateurs from North Florida versus 16 of the top amateurs from South Florida. Using a Ryder-Cup format, the winner is determined by the number of points earned throughout the two days. Players are invited based on their performance from the previous two seasons. Some automatic selections are based on the FSGA two-year points standings. In 2005, North Florida won the Matches 17-15.

Organized in 1913, the Florida State Golf Association is a not-for-profit organization that governs amateur golf in the state of Florida. In addition to conducting 25 championships for amateur golfers in the state, the FSGA is responsible for more than 40 qualifying tournaments for USGA National Championships. The FSGA also maintains the USGA Handicap System, performs course ratings throughout Florida and assists in junior programs and scholarships.


Back to News
FSGA links and resources
© 2018 Florida State Golf Association. All rights reserved. • Sitemap
While viewing this site, you are subject to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
Return to Top