Processing your payment, please wait.

Annual Awards

Awards and Recognition 

Players of the Year: The FSGA Championship Committee honors players with the award for being the state's "Player of the Year" in their age division. This achievement is given to players in the following categories:

  • Amateur Player of the Year (Women & Men)
  • Senior Player of the Year (Women and Men)
  • Junior Player of the Year (Women & Men)
  • Men's Mid-Amateur Player of the Year
  • Men's Super Senior Player of the Year

Selection for these awards are based off of factors including standings on points lists (Championship Points List, Two Years Point List and Florida Junior Tour Points Lists) and player's success in FSGA, USGA, and other select Championships of similar status. The Amateur Player of the Year Award may be a player of any age. 

Volunteers of the Year: Each year, two outstanding FSGA volunteers are recipients of the Charlie Bedford Award. Mr. Bedford was an FSGA Committee Member and volunteered his time both as a Tournament Chairman and Course Rater. Charlie was an expert on the Rules of Golf and a USGA Master Course Rater. He spent countless days on the golf course helping the game he loved and cherished. Of the over 500 FSGA Volunteers, only one receives this honorable award in each of the following categories:

  • Course Rating Volunteer of the Year
  • Tournament Volunteer of the Year

Qualities including exceptional organization, attention to detail, dedication, and an incredible passion for golf are found in all Charlie Bedford Award recipients.

Hall of Fame

Formed in 2005, the Florida State Golf Association's Hall of Fame recognizes exceptional individuals for their lifetime contributions to Florida Golf. The Hall of Fame is open to:

  • Exceptional amateur players 
  • Dedicated Volunteers
  • Sportswriters
  • Architects 
  • Other individuals who have had a profound effect on the game of golf in Florida

There are currently over 20 individuals in the Hall of Fame.

Special Awards 

Lifetime Achievement Award: On rare occasion, an individual may receive the Lifetime Achievement Award. This award is presented to a person who has dedicated his/her life to the betterment of not only the game of golf, but the people they touch. There are currently three individuals that have received this award:

The individuals who receive this award have blessed the state of Florida with their presence, knowledge, and leadership qualities. It is their unique ability to impact the lives of so many that make them deserving of this rare accomplishment. 

President's Award: This award is reserved for special accomplishment in national or international competitions by player who is very active in Florida, but is typically not a resident and accordingly ineligible for Player of the Year awards. Lexi Thompson was a very active FSGA player and a Florida resident and she received the award prior to the merger of the men's and women's golf associations in Florida.

  • 2008 U.S. Girls' Junior Champion - Lexi Thompson
  • 2009 U.S. Amateur Champion - Ben An
  • 2019 U.S. Women's Mid-Amateur Champion - Ina Kim-Schaad
  • 2023 U.S. Women's Amateur Four-Ball Champion - Gianna Clemente
  • 2023 U.S. Amateur Four-Ball Champion - Sampson Zheng