October 25, 2012

Florida Team Victorious at SWATCA

The Florida team defeated Tennessee, Virginia, North Carolina, and South Carolina at SWATCA

The Florida team won the 20th annual Southeastern Women’s Amateur Team Championship (SWATCA) which concluded on Wednesday, October 24th on the Quarry Course at Black Diamond Ranch in Lecanto, Florida.  Teams from Florida, Virginia, Tennessee, North Carolina, and South Carolina participated in the championship taking place October 22-24, 2012.

Florida - 13
South Carolina - 9
North Carolina - 7
Virginia - 6
Tennessee - 5 

Florida was never down during the week's matches.  They led with 4 points after Monday's four-ball matches, winning all four.  The largest margin of victory on Monday was Marie Arnoux and Nancy Smith's match against Virginia's Boodie McGurn and Cheryl Grigg.  Arnoux and Smith defeated them 6&4.

Winning three out of the four matches during Tuesday's foursome play, Florida had a two point lead going into the final day of singles matches.  Meghan Stasi and Mary Jane Hiestand dominated their South Carolina opponents, Lisa Maloney and Mari Harter, defeating them 6&5.  

During Wednesday's singles matches, Florida again controlled the course.  Tara Connelly won early over Karen Williams of Tennessee, winning 7&6.  Diane Lang defeated Shelley Savage of Virginia, 4&3.  Another win came from Florida's Lin McMillan over Tennessee's Evelyn Blackmon, 5&3.  Recent US Women's Mid-Amateur Champion, Meghan Stasi, easily defeated her opponent from South Carolina, Sue Churchill, 7&5.  A large and early victory also came from Mary Jane Hiestand, defeating Chrissie Spidell of South Carolina, 6&5.  The final point of the day came from Marie Aroux, being 2 down to Virginia's Cheryl Grigg after 11.  Arnoux came back to win the match 1 up.  Winning six out of the eight matches, and earning 6 more points, Florida finished with 13 points over South Carolina's 9 points that placed them in second.  Captain Debbie Mook Sang was very impressed with her team all week, they never backed down. 

Each team consists of 10 women, including one non-playing captain.  Eight players represent their state during each day of play.  One point is awarded for each match won, and a half of a point is awarded for any tied matches.  The format of the championship is as follows:

Monday:  Four-Ball Match Play
Tuesday: Foursomes Match Play (Modified Foursomes)
Wednesday: Singles Match Play

The Florida team was well represented from the top women amateur players from across the state.  Many were part of the victorious Women’s Southeastern Challenge Match team, where they defeated Georgia and Alabama in Ocala.  The 2012 Florida team included:

Captain – Debbie Mook Sang, Valrico

Marie Arnoux, Miami Beach
Tama Caldabaugh, Ponte Vedra Beach
Tara Connelly, West Palm Beach
Mary Jane Hiestand, Naples
Diane Lang, Weston
Lin McMillan, Palm Coast
Nancy Smith, North Port
Meghan Stasi, Oakland Park
Tovie St. Lois, West Palm Beach

Congratulations team Florida!

Back to News
FSGA links and resources
© 2018 Florida State Golf Association. All rights reserved. • Sitemap
While viewing this site, you are subject to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
Return to Top