1999 Four-Ball Championship

LaCrosse and Alfieri Win Again

Duo Claims the Florida State Four-Ball Championship

July 26, 1999

ORLANDO, Fla. - Doug Lacrosse and Joe Alfieri won their second state championship of the year on Sunday. After winning the Florida State Mid-Amateur Four-Ball Championship in June, the duo claimed the Florida State Four-Ball Championship by six strokes with a 64-64--128 at the Grand Cypress Golf Club in Orlando.

After a first-round 64 on Saturday, the team held a one stroke lead over six teams. LaCrosse, of Tampa, made six birdies during the round to pace the team.

The second round saw Alfieri and LaCrosse each make four birdies to pull away with another 8-under par 64.

"It was a great team effort," Alfieri said.

Eric Schreiber and Rick Othmer, both of West Palm Beach, shot a final-round 65 to move into a second-place tie with two other teams. Doug Wegrzyn of Heathrow and Steven Berdan of Orlando shot 65-69, while David Sutton of Maitland and Patrick Maloney of Orlando fired consecutive 67's for second place.

Sean Pacetti and Kyle Williamson, the defending champions from Jacksonville, finished in a tie for 22nd with a 67-72--139.

LaCrosse and Alfieri received crystal championship vases and had their name inscribed on the base of the permanent Florida State Four-Ball Championship Trophy. An old English plate two-handled chased cup designed by Henry Alkin in in 1860 tops the trophy.

The Florida State Four-Ball Championship is the sixth of 16 state championships conducted by the Florida State Golf Association. The Florida State Parent-Child Championship is the seventh and is scheduled for August 7-8 at Disney's Bonnet Creek courses.

Preview Story

Complete Results


Back to Four-Ball History

FSGA links and resources
© 2018 Florida State Golf Association. All rights reserved. • Sitemap
While viewing this site, you are subject to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
Return to Top