Processing your payment, please wait.

Mid-Am Four-Ball Champions Crowned

June 3, 2012

Jeronimo Esteve and Thad Hudgens went wire-to-wire to win the Mid-Amateur Four-Ball North Championship at Gainesville Country Club in Gainesville, as Stephen Anderson and Jon Veneziano captured the South Championship at Mayacoo Lakes Country Club in West Palm Beach, on June 2-3.

Jeronimo Esteve and Thad Hudgens posted a tournament total of 12 under par 132 to win the North Championship. The pair carded an impressive first round score of 8-under par 64, which included six birdies and an eagle, to lead by two strokes heading into the final round. In the final round, the duo would post a round of four-under par 68 to claim the Championship by two strokes. Tori Carli and Derek Camps finished alone in second place firing rounds of 66-68 for a tournament total of 10-under par 134. The shot of the tournament went to Steve Carter, of Saint Augustine, who made a hole-in-one on the par 3 fourth hole.

In the South Championship, Stephen Anderson and Jon Veneziano erased a three stroke deficit to prevail in a playoff and capture the Championship. Anderson and Veneziano posted a first round of 8-under par 63 to trail the first round leaders, Frank Babusik and John Wegmann by three strokes, after their first round of 11-under par 60.  After a final round of 8-under par 63, which included clutch birdies on 16 and 18, Anderson and Veneziano would find themselves tied with Babusik and Wegmann after their final round of 5-under par 66. The teams would head for a sudden death playoff with Anderson and Veneziano prevailing on the second playoff hole to capture the title.  The team of David Obst and Jeffrey Walker finished alone in third place with a tournament total of 131.
The Mid-Amateur Four-Ball Championships each consist of 36 holes of four-ball stroke play. In four-ball stroke play, two competitors play as partners, each playing their own ball. The lower score of the partners is the score for the hole. The field is flighted after 18 holes. To be eligible, players must be 25 years of age or older.