November 15, 2012

Women's International Four-Ball Revived

Historic event to attract local, national, and international amateur golfers

The Florida State Golf Association has announced that The Wanderers Club will be host to the 66th Women’s International Four-Ball Championship.  The championship will be conducted in Wellington, Florida on February 16-17, 2013.  

As the fourth championship in the Orange Blossom Tour that includes the Harder Hall Women's Invitational, the South Atlantic Amateur (SALLY), and the Ione D. Jones/Doherty Championship, the Women’s International Four-Ball carries a tremendous amount of history and prestige.  The FSGA acquired the championship in early 2012 with the hopes of reviving the historical event.  First conducted in 1945 by the Jaycees of Hollywood, Florida (pictured to the right), the early championships included the names of Babe Zaharias, Louise Suggs, Peggy Kirk-Bell, and other notables.

“The FSGA is thrilled to have the opportunity to help restore one of the grand championships of women’s amateur golf”, said Jim Demick, Executive Director of the FSGA.  “Next year will mark the FSGA’s 100th anniversary, and we look forward to conducting this event for generations to come”.

The Women’s International Four-Ball Championship will be open to all women amateur golfers that have a handicap index of 34.0 or less.  The format of the championship is 36 holes of four-ball stroke play, commonly known as a two-person, best-ball.  Teams will have the option of playing in one of three divisions; the Championship, Silver, or the Bronze Division.  However, teams with a combined Handicap Index of 10.0 or lower must play in the Championship Division.  Teams with a combined handicap index greater than 10.0 may select which division they wish to compete in upon entry. The Championship Division will play at approximately 6,000 yards; the Silver Division will play at approximately 5,500 yards; and the Bronze Division will play at approximately 5,000 yards.  The Championship Division will compete for gross prizes only, and the Silver and Bronze Divisions will compete for both gross and net prizes.  The overall Women’s International Four-Ball champion will be the team from the Championship Division with the lowest 36-hole total score.  

Organized in 1913, the Florida State Golf Association is a not-for-profit organization that governs amateur golf in the state of Florida. In addition to conducting 40 championships for amateur golfers in the state, the FSGA is responsible for more than 50 qualifying tournaments for USGA National Championships. The FSGA also maintains the USGA Handicap System, performs course ratings throughout Florida and assists in junior programs and scholarships.

Click here to enter the championship. 

Back to News
FSGA links and resources
© 2018 Florida State Golf Association. All rights reserved. • Sitemap
While viewing this site, you are subject to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
Return to Top