February 04, 2013

Dale Wins Jones Cup

Sean Dale Comes From Behind to Win Jones Cup

Sean Dale, a past Florida State Amateur Champion, won the Jones Cup on Sunday with a 3-under 213 total at Ocean Forest Golf Club.

Dale, who is currently a Senior at the University of North Florida, started the day at even par and four strokes behind the second round leader, Cory Whitsett. Dale got his round off to a great start with a birdie at the first. After back to back bogeys on the tough 4th and 5th holes, Dale played the remaining thirteen holes in 4-under par to fire the best score on Sunday, with a three-under par 69.

First contested in 2001, Jones Cup began as an opportunity to celebrate not only the game of golf, but also the camaraderie and fellowship associated with it. This 54-hole individual stroke-play event is played at Ocean Forest Golf Club. The Rees Jones design opened in 1995 and has hosted the 1998 Georgia State Amateur Championship, the 1999 Southern Amateur Championship and the 2001 Walker Cup Match.

The Jones Cup brings together many of the finest amateurs from the United States and abroad for this three-day competition. While the golf course proves to be a great venue for this unique event, the Jones Cup's success and popularity can be attributed to the strength of the players who comprise its field. Past participants range from current and future PGA Tour stars Luke Donald, Rickie Fowler, Lucas Glover, Dustin Johnson, Chris Kirk, Jeff Overton, Webb Simpson, Brandt Snedeker, Bubba Watson and Gary Woodland as well as Past Champions DJ Trahan, Gregg Jones, Nicholas Thompson, Luke List, Kyle Stanley, Patrick Reed and John Peterson.

Click here for full results


Back to News
FSGA links and resources
© 2018 Florida State Golf Association. All rights reserved. • Sitemap
While viewing this site, you are subject to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
Return to Top