Processing your payment, please wait.

Five Things to Know: Inaugural Adaptive Open

September 27, 2023

Tampa, Fla. – Next week, the Inaugural Florida Adaptive Open Championship will take center stage at Innisbrook Resort. This championship has been years in the making, and now the stage is set for 60 players representing seven different impairment categories to compete in this historic championship.

Here are five things to know before the championship begins.

Historic Inaugural Championship

The FSGA joins the USGA, the U.S. Adaptive Golf Alliance and several other Allied Golf Associations in providing competitive opportunities for adaptive golfers. The USGA conducted the inaugural U.S. Adaptive Open at Pinehurst Resort’s Course No. 6 in 2022. Since the playing of this championship, interest in adaptive golf tournaments has been on the rise throughout the country.

The FSGA is proud to join this list of associations with the playing of the Inaugural Florida Adaptive Open and hope to grow adaptive golf around the state by providing competitive opportunities for the community.

By the Numbers

Sixty players will tee it up in the inaugural championship, competing in seven different impairment categories. Twenty states will be represented at this year’s championship, with 35 players hailing from outside the state of Florida. Other than Florida, North Carolina and Georgia are the most represented state with four players each.

The average age in this year’s Adaptive Open field is 44 years old. Texas native, Ryder Barr will be the youngest player in the field at 15 years old, while Nazzara Bernardo will be the most experienced player in the field at 76 years old.

U.S. Adaptive Champion Looks for Another Title

When the Inaugural Florida Adaptive Open begins on Monday, Ryanne Jackson, the 2023 U.S. Adaptive Open champion, will be in the field. The St. Petersburg native took home the win at Pinehurst in July, posting rounds of 76-75-74 to take the victory by five strokes over the field, after finishing runner-up at the Inaugural U.S. Adaptive Open in 2022.

Jackson will look to capture another title this year, less than 25 miles from where she grew up playing the game.

Strong Field

This year’s field will consist of 13 players who competed in the 2023 U.S. Adaptive Open Championship, including Jackson. Three players finished inside the top 10 in the Men’s Division: Scott Caveney, Dan Beacham and Kevin Holland.

Innisbrook to Play Host

The South Course at Innisbrook Resort will play host to the inaugural championship. Reminiscent of a links-style design, the South Course was designed by Lawrence Packard.

Innisbrook is no stranger to hosting FSGA championship, with the Adaptive Open marking the 19th time that an FSGA championship will be held at Innisbrook. Most recently, the Palm Harbor resort hosted the 94th Women’s Amateur Championship in June.