Processing your payment, please wait.

Three Teams Triumph at Buckhorn

February 6, 2024

Valrico, Fla. – Fifty-two teams of two traveled to Buckhorn Springs Golf and Country Club to battle it out with each other and be crowned a winter series champion. The top of the leaderboard saw 2023 FSGA Players of the Year, as well as the 2023 Golf Association of Philadelphia Player of the Year. Teams of Troy Vannucci and Kevin Dutkowsky, Paul Royak and Miles McConnell and John Milton and David Anthony won the Mid-Amateur, Senior and Super-Senior Divisions respectively.


Troy Vannucci, coming off of his recent win at Country Club of Ocala, picked up right where he left off, only this time, with his partner Kevin Dutkowsky. After a first round bogey free 65, the team of Vannucci/Dutkowsky grabbed the lead over Gabler/Wyatt and Girardi/Aaron.

Round two saw the charging team of defending Winter Series points champion Ryan Prokay and his partner, Jimmy Kozikowski, who made it to the round of 16 in the 42nd Mid-Amateur Championship. Although they fired rounds of 68-66, it was no match for the back-to-back rounds of 65 by Vannucci/Dutkowsky, who grabbed the victory by four shots.


Just like Vannucci, Chad Ibbotson also continued his hot streak with partner Matthew Avril and fired a first round 65. However, the team on their tail has racked up over 10 FSGA State Championships.

The team of Paul Royak and reigning Senior Amateur Player of the Year Miles McConnell fired a first round 67 and was ready to take over the lead come round two. With no bogeys on the scorecard and 10 total birdies, the team of Royak/McConnell was able to secure a three shot victory over Mike Johnson and Chad Frank.

Super Senior

A few Jacksonville natives traveled down to the Tampa area and made their presence known to Central Florida in the Super-Senior Division. John Milton and 2023 Super-Senior Player of the Year David Anthony recorded eight birdies and a bogey to finish at 7-under par on day one, securing a three shot lead heading into round two.

Although a second round 72 slowed down the team of Milton/Anthony, their first round was unable to be overcome by any of the three teams who fired 68 in the first round. In second place was the team of Bill Moore and Marcus Beck who fired rounds of 69-71.