Processing your payment, please wait.

Five Must-Watch Players At The Mid-Amateur

May 13, 2024

Tampa, Fla. -The upcoming 43rd Mid-Amateur Championship is set to take place May 16th- 19th at La Gorce Country Club in Miami Beach. This year's championship will challenge the best male amateurs, age 25 and up from around the state of Florida in 36 holes of stroke play qualifying, followed by a single eliminate match play bracket.  

For the second consecutive year, the Mid-Amateur Championship received record entries, with 544 total entries. Over 500 players competed at 8 local qualifying sites to join 32 exempt players in the Championship field of 84 that will tee it up next Thursday.

The action kicks off on Thursday with tee-offs from both the #1 and #10 holes at 8:00 AM. As Friday morning dawns, anticipation builds as the field is narrowed down to the top 32 contenders, setting the stage for the contested round match play, beginning at 1:30 PM.  The round of 16 will be played Saturday, dwindling down contestants until the Championship match, which will be held Sunday afternoon. 

Amidst a talented field of competitors, we’ve handpicked five standout players to keep an eye out for during the 43rd Mid-Amateur Championship. 

Joseph Latowski | Port St. Lucie | Round 1 Tee Time: 9:30 AM #1

Latowski of Port Saint Lucie is a past champion in the field after capturing the victory in 2020 and 2022. Latowski was honored with both the Amateur and Mid-Amateur Player of the Year awards following a 2022 season that included a FSGA championship win and a USGA championship appearance. While claiming his victory of 2020 Mid-Amateur, he put together rounds of 69-67-69 to finish 8-under, the one year the format was changed due to COVID. As a notable force in match play, reaching the finals in 2019, and finals of the Amateur Match Play in 2022, Latwoski is looking for his Mid-Amateur triple-crown.

Jay Halverson | Saint Petersburg | Round 1 Tee Time: 9:40 AM #1

The 2023 champion of the 42nd Mid-Amateur Championship, Halverson, is back again to defend his title. On the final day of last year's championship, Halverson recorded 3 birdies and 12 pars to defeat runner-up Jonah Wassertstrom. 

Halverson is no stranger to victories in the 2024 season. After securing a final round score of 63 with partner Miles McConnell, the two raised the trophy at the first men’s championship of the season at Stone Creek Golf Club. 

Andrew Morris | Saint Augustine | Round 1 Tee Time: 9:40 AM #1

Morris is a seasoned champion, always a captivating player to follow. His triumph at the 2023 Florida Amateur Match Play Championship was an exciting watch, culminating in a victory over Cooper Smith in a neck-and-neck battle that saw them both at 9-under par on the front 9.

Marc Dull | Lakeland | Round 1 Tee Time: 9:30 AM #1

Dull’s achievements defy any connection to his last name. His list of accomplishments is impressive, rounding up Amateur Champion & Player of the Year in 2023, Amateur Player of the Year in 2017, and Mid-Amateur Player of the Year in 2018. Amongst other accolades, Dull was the 2018 Mid-Amateur champion after being matched against another successful force and former Player of the Year, Jeff Golden. 

Dull also was the first mid-amateur player to raise the Amateur trophy in 20 years after capturing a seven-shot victory at the 106th Amateur Championship. Keep your eyes out for Dull as he continues to light up the leaderboard.

T J Shuart | Fort Lauderdale | Round 1 Tee Time: 9:30 AM #1

Shuart adds another layer to his career with victories at the 2015 and 2019 Mid-Amateur Championships, solidifying his status as a past champion. His journey also includes triumphs as the Amateur Match Play Champion in 2015 and the Amateur Public Links Champion in both 2012 and 2014.

In a display of skill, Shuart clinched the title at the 74th Four-Ball Championship in 2023, posting scores of 67-65 for a total of 132. 


Match play allows for every hole to be a separate event, where par is blissfully irrelevant. Players such as Joseph Latowski, Marc Dull and T J Shuart, have mastered the nuances of the thrilling hole-by-hole showdowns. 

Joseph Latwoski stands out as a true match play virtuoso, clinching the title of Amateur Player of the Year in 2022, and receiving the Mid-Amateur Player of the Year awards in 2020 and 2022. His impressive 7-0-3 record in the Southeastern Challenge and 4-3-2 performance in the Florida Cup solidify his prowess. 

Marc Dull is another force to be reckoned with, boasting an impressive track record of 12-6-2 in the Southeastern Challenge and a 5-1-0 record in the Florida Cup. Similarly, T J Shuart shines in match play, with two FSGA Mid-Amateur crowns and a win at the Amateur Match Play Championship. His cup match resume includes a 7-1-1 record in the Florida Cup and 1-4-0 in the Southeastern Challenge.

While spotlighting five golfers brimming with talent, the unpredictable nature of golf adds to its excitement, giving a fair shot to anyone on the field. Follow along with live scoring as the championship begins on Thursday.


Championship First Round Pairings