August 04, 2013

Rodriguez and Matin Claim Four-Ball Title

Brandi Rodriguez and Sarah Matin Beat Out Defending Champions

First time four-ball partners, Brandi Rodriguez, of Orlando, and Sarah Matin, of Winter Garden, (pictured right) captured the Women's Four-Ball Championship this weekend at LPGA International. Rodriguez and Matin fired a consistent 10-under par 67-67-134.

After Saturday's first round, the duo was tied for the lead with Defending Champions, Wendi Golden and Ericka Schneider, both from Bradenton. Rodriguez and Matin were three under after four holes, leaving them two up at the turn. As they approached the 16th hole, Rodriguez and Matin found themselves tied with Golden and Schneider, but with Matin's four foot birdie putt, the duo took back the lead. The winning team had a total of seven birdies, six of which Matin made.Throughout their round, the champions did their best to play aggressive, stay positive and sink birdie putts. Matin and Rodriguez both attended Winter Park High School. Brandi currently goes to Southern Mississippi and Sarah attended University of Central Florida.

Forever four-ball partners, Mary Jane Hiestand (2012 Senior Women's Player of the Year) and Diane Lang (three time US Senior Women's Amateur Champion) were one shot back heading into Sunday's final round and  finished tied for 2nd with Schneider and Golden. Hiestand and Lang are already planning on playing together to try and qualify for the new US Women's Four-Ball Championship.

In the Middle Division first flight, Angie Browning and Meigan Putnam captured the gross title with a 71-68--139, while duo Ryan Ashburn and Diane Ashburn won the Middle Division second flight gross first place with a 71-69--140.  Mary Ann Andrews Modrak and Joyce Vanatter captured the Forward Division gross title with a 71-76--147.

Mary Lou Edwards and Gigi Higgins won first place net in the Middle Division First Flight, Jeannette Engelmann and Conchita Llack won the Middle Division Second Flight top net team, and Kimberly Byle and Chris Daywalt won net in the Forward Division.

The Florida State Women’s Four-Ball Championship was held at LPGA International Golf Course in Daytona Beach. The tournament was 36 holes of gross four-ball stroke play in the Championship Division and 36 holes of gross and net four-ball stroke play in the Middle and Forward Division.

For final net and gross results - click here.

Back to News
FSGA links and resources
© 2018 Florida State Golf Association. All rights reserved. • Sitemap
While viewing this site, you are subject to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
Return to Top