October 24, 2003

North Leads South After Morning Round

North Florida won six of the eight morning matches to lead the Florida Cup Matches.

In the morning round of four-ball stroke play, the North team earned 6½ points as they won six matches and finished all square in one match. Leading the team was this year’s State Senior Champion Dan Meinert and partner Curtis Madson, who defeated Bob Ethridge and Stuart Illiffe 4 and 2. Also winning their match for the North team was the 2003 State Amateur Champion Richard Maddox and partner Ken Moody, who defeated Brent Bush and Chris Muscara 4 and 3. Last year’s Player-of-the-Year, Rick Woulfe and partner Frank Strafaci were the lone winners of the South team as they defeated North captain Andy Purnell and teammate Steve Carter 2 up. The North’s Joseph Cristillo and Ed Craig finished all square with Bob Rogoff and Robert Keller of the South team. Both teams earned half a point for that match.

The afternoon round features foursome matches still in progress. Three matches are completed as the North team is victorious in two of them and the South won one match. The South team leads in three matches as they try to earn more points. The final day, Friday, October 24, participants will play 18 holes of singles match play.

Andy Purnell, of Jacksonville, who won the 2003 Match Play Championship, is the captain of the North team. Purnell represented Florida in the USGA State Team Championship and finished second in this year’s State Amateur Championship. The North team includes the State Amateur Champion, Richard Maddox, of Panama City as well as the 2003 State Senior Champion Dan Meinert, of Jacksonville. Also named to the North team is: Curt Madson, of Mount Dora; Joseph Cristillo, of Crystal River; Ed Craig, of Orlando; David Sutton, of Maitland; Bret Voisin, of Orlando; Steve Carter, of Jacksonville; Ken Moody, of Ponte Vedra Beach; Doug Snoap, of Apopka; Peter Dachisen, of Wesley Chapel; Jeff Sunday, of Orlando; Chip Holcombe, of Casselberry and Paul Royak, of Tampa.

Rick Woulfe, of Ft. Lauderdale, will act as the captain of the South team. Woulfe, the 2002 Florida State Player-of-the-Year, also represented Florida at the USGA State Team Championship. The South team will feature Michael Nealy, of Boca Raton, who has placed in the top ten in the State Match Play, Public Links and Mid-Amateur Championships. Ryan Konkus, of Hobe Sound, who recently won the 2003 Florida State Mid-Amateur Championship, will also play on the South team. Also named to the South team include: Stuart Iliffe, of Coral Gables; Robert Keller, of Palm Beach Gardens; Bob Ethridge, of Plantation; Bob Rogoff, Coral Springs; Aaron Tallman, of Pembroke Pines; Mark Leetzow, of Sarasota; John Corzilius, of Englewood; Lee Booker, of Naples; Brent Bush, of Palm Beach Gardens; Ken Dawson, of Ft. Lauderdale; Frank Strafaci, of Davie and Chris Muscara, of Bradenton.

Held every two years, the Florida Cup Matches vie the top 16 amateurs from North Florida versus the top 16 amateurs from South Florida. Using a Ryder-Cup format, the winner is determined by the number of points earned throughout the two days. Using the Florida State Golf Association's point standings list, players are invited based on their point standings. In 2001, South Florida won with an 18.5 to 13.5 victory at Lago Mar Country Club in Plantation. South Florida leads the series 2-1.

Organized in 1913, the Florida State Golf Association is a not-for-profit organization that governs amateur golf in the state of Florida. In addition to conducting 20 championships for amateur golfers in the state, the FSGA is responsible for 39 qualifying tournaments for USGA National Championships. The FSGA also maintains the USGA Handicap System, performs course ratings throughout Florida and assists in junior programs and scholarships.

Back to News
FSGA links and resources
© 2018 Florida State Golf Association. All rights reserved. • Sitemap
While viewing this site, you are subject to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
Return to Top