October 07, 2000

Top Two Seeds Still Alive at Mid-Amateur

Chip Holcombe of Casselberry and Doug LaCrosse of Tampa advance the semis along with Lynn Haven's Mike Riley and Tallahassee's Michael Grant.

Holcombe, the 1998 U.S. Mid-Amateur runner-up, was the number one seed after shooting 6-under par during qualifying. He was taken an extra hole in the first mind of match play by Tampa's Frank Griffin, but held on for the victory. He then closed Inverness' Kelly Gosse out on the 16th hole during the second round, 4 and 2.

After tying the course record with a 63 during qualifying, LaCrosse continued his hot play. LaCrosse downed Paul Royak of Tampa in the first round by a 6 and 4 margin. He then finished early again by defeating Palm Harbor's Neil Vanleeuwen, 4 and 3, in the second round.

Riley, the 13th seed, went 19 holes in his first round match to defeat Ft Myers' Tom Carr, but then closed out defending champion and 1999 Player-of-the-Year Joe Alfieri II of Lutz by a 2 and 1 score in the second round.

Grant knocked off 3rd seed Pipp Patton in the first round by a score of 3 and 1. He made a miraculous one-putt save on the 16th to maintain his lead on Ft. Lauderdale's Rick Wolfe, and then won on the next hole for a 2 and 1 victory in the second round.

The Florida State Mid-Amateur Championship is the 15th of 17 state championships conducted annually by the Florida State Golf Association. The FSGA is a not-for-profit organization that promotes, preserves, and protects amateur golf in the state of Florida, For information, please call (813) 632-3742.

Back to News
FSGA links and resources
© 2018 Florida State Golf Association. All rights reserved. • Sitemap
While viewing this site, you are subject to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
Return to Top