1999 Florida Cup

North Florida Dominates the Florida Cup Matches by Winning 20-12

October 22, 1999

SARASOTA, Fla. - When David Sutton closed out Paul Piccolo, 4 and 3, North Florida had won seven out of the first eight singles matches at Laurel Oak Country Club on Friday to win their first ever Florida Cup title. South Florida had won the inaugural Florida Cup Matches in 1997.

The North led 10-6 heading into the final 16 matches. Co-captain Doug LaCrosse started the North's onslaught with a convincing 5-and-3 victory over two-time Florida State Player-of-the-Year John Corzilius. By the time Sutton defeated Piccolo, every match had been won by the North with the exception being Stuart Iliffe defeating John Ward in the days’ third match.

The South maintained some honor by winning five points in the final eight matches. Cary Spicuzza, Ron Cleland, Steve Earsley and George Earle II won their match, while Rick Woulfe and Mark Leetzow halved their matches.

LaCrosse was one of three players from the North team to win a point in all three sessions of the event. Jacksonville's duo of Steve Dodson and David Anthony teamed to win both matches Thursday and then won their individual matches Friday. The South did not have a player win 3 points, but Bill King, Paul Piccolo and Earle each won two.

The Florida Cup Matches vie the top amateurs from North Florida versus the top amateurs from South Florida. Using a Ryder Cup format, the winner is determined by the number of points earned throughout the two days. The participants were invited based on their placement in the Florida State Golf Association's point standings list.

Members of North Florida are: Matt Avril of Orlando, David Sutton of Maitland, David Anthony of Jacksonville, Steve Dodson of Jacksonville, Joe Alfieri II of Lutz, Doug LaCrosse of Tampa, Chip Holcombe of Casselberry, George Roat of Windermere, Don Lucas of Tampa, John Ward of Winter Park, Lee Chira of Orlando, Edward Craig of Orlando, Tim O'Neal of St. Augustine, Doug Snoap of Apopka, Robert Lasko of Tallahassee and Neil Vanleeuwen of Palm Harbor.

Members of South Florida are: Nokomis' John Corzilius, Sarasota's Mark Leetzow, Jupiter's Bill King, Palm City's Paul Piccolo, Boca Raton's Cary Geensburg, Ft. Lauderdale Gordon O'Neil, Miami Beach's Frank Strafaci, Ft. Lauderdale's Rick Woulfe, Jensen Beach's Jeff Thomas, Key Biscayne's George Earle II, Naples' Ron Cleland, Sarasota's Cary Spicuzza, Wellington's Steve Earsley, Weston's Tom Riley, Surfside's Gunnar Bennett and Coral Gable's Stuart Iliffe.

Round One Story

Preview Story

Complete Results


Back to Florida Cup History

FSGA links and resources
© 2018 Florida State Golf Association. All rights reserved. • Sitemap
While viewing this site, you are subject to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
Return to Top